URL:
Location:
Seattle, WA
Niche:
Lending
Prior::
Real Crowd

Overall:

Communication/Reporting:

Track Record/Performance:

Sponsor Fees:

Established in 1987, Broadmark Capital is a merchant bank providing direct investment opportunities for accredited investors, and financing and management services to emerging companies. Pyatt Broadmark Management is an affiliated company of Broadmark Capital and is the Manager of Pyatt Broadmark Real Estate Lending Fund I.

In late 2009 and 2010, we began an extensive due diligence process that included a review of many competitive real estate lending firms. We learned two things: first, we concluded small builders, developers, and real estate investors need short-term commercial financing; moreover, demand for this financing is even more acute today than it has ever been. Historically, this type of financing was supplied by regional banks. However post-credit crisis, many regional banks were either shut down completely, sold to larger competitors, or restricted from making these types of loans. Banks have not returned to this market since that time and we don't believe they will. Second, we concluded a relatively conservative real estate lending fund could be designed to mitigate many of the risks that have plagued this asset class. So we did, and built a fund we would be comfortable recommending to our friends and family. 

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

C H

Jun 03, 2017

I've been invested with 1 of Broadmark's fund for over 2 years. Their distributions have always been on time and investor reporting/communication has always been excellent. I highly recommend checking them out for real estate debt exposure. 

M C B

May 30, 2017

I have been invested in the BRELF II fund since Jan 2017.  So far I have been very pleased with the consistent returns, thorough and timely communication, and ability to reinvest monthly distributions.

Joel Schaefer

May 09, 2017

Have been invested in BRELF II since mid 2015. Overall higher returns than most of my other RE debt funds. Pleased with them and would invest additional funds

Jack Bodden

Jan 28, 2017

I invested in BRELF II in September 2016.  Outstanding communication including highlights of new loans and full details on any loans in default.  LTV can be no greater than 65%.  Monthly distributions a plus.

D D

Jan 27, 2017

I've been in their BRELF II fund since late 2015 and I'm very happy with it.  Steady returns every month, can auto-reinvest, can withdraw quarterly after 1 yr lockup, monthly reports, professional operation.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
Atlas was founded in 2009 by managing principals Arvind Chary and Alex Foster. The two founders bring over 25 years of i
At Watermark Partners Real Estate, we raise and actively manage funds for the acquisition, improvement and management of
ApexOne Investment Partners is a privately held real estate investment firm and fund manager. Our platform was created t
Praxis Capital, Inc is a vertically integrated real estate private equity investment firm which combines an entrepreneur
MLG Capital is a Real Estate Investment Manager that utilizes the skills and expertise of the MLG Family of Companies. S
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to 4% loan points as an origination fee deducted from loan funds at loan closing, plus 1% to 3% interest rate spread taken from loan repayments over the course of the loan. There is no cost for investors to sign up and
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essent
Website - EquityMultiple.com Fees - .5% annual asset management fee on equity + 10% carry Phone - 646)-844-9943 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed EQUITYMULTIPLE is the only online investi
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Broadmark Capital Broadmark Capital
Rated 3.9/5 based on 27 customer reviews

Established in 1987, Broadmark Capital is a merchant bank providing direct investment opportunities for accredited investors, and financing and management services to emerging companies. Pyatt Broadmark Management is an affiliated company of Broadmark Capital and is the Manager of Pyatt Broadmark Real Estate Lending Fund I.

In late 2009 and 2010, we began an extensive due diligence process that included a review of many competitive real estate lending firms. We learned two things: first, we concluded small builders, developers, and real estate investors need short-term commercial financing; moreover, demand for this financing is even more acute today than it has ever been. Historically, this type of financing was supplied by regional banks. However post-credit crisis, many regional banks were either shut down completely, sold to larger competitors, or restricted from making these types of loans. Banks have not returned to this market since that time and we don't believe they will. Second, we concluded a relatively conservative real estate lending fund could be designed to mitigate many of the risks that have plagued this asset class. So we did, and built a fund we would be comfortable recommending to our friends and family.