MLG Real Estate Reviews & Ratings
URL:
Location:
Brookfield, WI
Niche:
Diversification within four main asset classes (Ap
Prior::
Real Crowd and direct for 32 years

Overall:

Communication/Reporting:

Track Record/Performance:

Sponsor Fees:

To see feedback and discussions from actual MLG investors, join over 2000 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

MLG Capital is a privately-held real estate investment firm that was founded in 1987. The affiliation of
MLG companies have focused on acquisitions, investments, dispositions, development, management,
and brokerage for over 34 years. Each of the MLG Private Funds target to acquire a geographically
diverse portfolio of 20-25+ commercial real estate assets primarily consisting of (in order of preference)
multifamily properties, industrial, retail, and office properties in several key U.S. markets. Since its
inception, MLG Capital and its associated entities have had active, exited or pending investments of
approximately 27.5 million square feet of total space across the United States, inclusive of more than
22,700+ apartment units, with exited and estimated current value exceeding $±3.1 billion*.

The funds will focus on opportunities that seek to provide investors cash-on-cash yield with the
expectation of growth over time via a dual sourcing strategy structured to encompass their 34 years of
operating history in the Midwest and FL, plus, a private equity strategy currently engaged with over
4,000 real estate industry contacts in several other states. The combination of these two strategies is set
to create deep deal flow, deep diligence, and deep relationships across the country.

MLG Capital focuses on providing the best investment experience and returns. This requires the best
people, and the strongest team. We build our firm around that belief. We are a value-driven
organization.

Current Offering: MLG Private Fund V, MLG Dividend Fund V LLC, a targeted $300M private fund

Learn more: https://mlgcapital.com/private-fund-v/

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

NAVEEN RAJPUROHIT

Jan 01, 2021

Strongest sponsor for me so far (out of 6 different sponsors i am invested with). Good communication. 

The only Con for me so far: not a composite K1 return. Multiple state returns led me to hired a CPA to do it.  

Ethan S-G

Sep 16, 2020

Very pleased with MLG. Great communication, highly organized, and performance is top notch. They've handled the COVID-19 situation with great poise and communication. I look forward to investing in future funds with MLG.

Kirby Loid

Oct 10, 2019

Spsonsor has good commuitiactions through statements and webinar updates.  Returns are on track at this point.   Expectaions are on track.  Overall i rate sponsor high for the market served

Paul Dynan

Apr 26, 2019

My first fund after sponsor-direct, and has been great so far.  The person I spoke with to explain the fund was knowledgeable and thorough.   I did need to call, as email inquires seemed to go nowhere.  Reporting and updates have been great.  Terms were very good, but too early to say much beyond early performance.  The only con, and something of a real thorn for anyone who already has too many, is their current fund does not have a consolidated K-1.  My accountant may finally fire me over this investment.

Bob Cat

Feb 23, 2019

Highly professional team. They continue execute very well and their communication and reporting is excellent. K1s come on time and are accurate. I am an investor in Fund III and gearing up to invest the Fund IV. One of my best sponsors!

Robert Fakheri

Jan 24, 2019

I have only been invested for a few months so far, but been very satisfied so far. Communication was a bit slow during the busy period of fund closing, but very responsive otherwise. Their updates provide a lot of detail about each property's performance. They provided an estimate of the k1 tax form before any other sponsor I am invested with. Fees are reasonable. Performance has been good especially considering modest leverage. Their funds offer more diversity (by geography and asset class) than almost any other private real estate fund so very attractive for anyone that wants to simplify allocation. Diversity makes it hard to execute well, but they seem to be able to do it nonetheless.

Paul Szilassy

Apr 30, 2018

Top-notch communication - very responsive. Rick Stoll reached out to me several months after my initial investment as a courtesy follow-up and our second conversation helped reinforce my investment decision. MLG has a 30-year history of solid performance in the office, multifamily, and light industrial space. They have been doing many co-investments in Fund III, which allows exposure to more deals and is a nice risk mitigation strategy. Leverage is reasonable. 

I invested in September 2017 and returns to-date have been below proforma, but preferred is cumulative and the fund is still raising capital and actively making investments. I'm comfortable with the fund management and history. So far, I'm very happy with this investment.

K Mo

Jan 25, 2018

I like this sponsor. Have met with their roadshow team and had various conversations over the past year. Their current fund is a good mix of assets in geographies I like. Distributions are around 5-6% now (as expected) while the fund continues in acquisition phase. Considering increasing my investment before fund closes in 2018.

Patient Investor

Dec 03, 2017

MLG is one of the better sponsors out there. They definitily looking for investors interests. They seems to do a very thorough DD before they will invest in a property. My experience has been very positive during the last two years I have been invested with them. Seems like they are becoming too big now.

Zika Virus

May 10, 2017

One of my favorite sponsors.  They are professional and investor centric.  Fees are reasonable.  Monthly reports.  Transparency.  

I really like how they are moderated leveraged in their deals to provide safety of capital.  Too many sponsors max-leverage their deals to make their numbers look good to draw in unwary investors.  

Don Wallace

Jan 27, 2017

I cant say enough nice things about MLG. The fees are fair and reasonable, the leverage on their deals is realtively low and the one deal that went full cycle the beat their projected IRR by 10%. They send out monthly reports (most just do quarlterly) and pay thier distributions within a couple of weeks of a quater's end. They also answer email promptly.  You will find that this is not true for all sponsors.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
The RealSource Group of Companies benefits from their proprietary "Econometric Model" which has been in use since 1
Griffin Partners is an entrepreneurial commercial real estate investment, development, and property management firm. We
A Premier private lending company, we build healthy returns through real estate investing and lending opportunities.
Avistone is a real estate investment management firm with expertise in the acquisition and operation of multi?tenant ind
To see feedback and discussions from actual Broadmark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 50
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essentially synd
To see feedback and discussions from actual Fund That Flip investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct. URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Website - Holdfolio Fees - Various Phone - 317-440-1515 SEC REG - USES neither 506b or 506c Holdfolio was founded on the principle of creating profitable partnerships. We believe individuals need to earn above average return
MLG Real Estate Reviews & Ratings MLG Real Estate Reviews & Ratings
Rated 3.8/5 based on 29 customer reviews

To see feedback and discussions from actual MLG investors, join over 2000 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

MLG Capital is a privately-held real estate investment firm that was founded in 1987. The affiliation of
MLG companies have focused on acquisitions, investments, dispositions, development, management,
and brokerage for over 34 years. Each of the MLG Private Funds target to acquire a geographically
diverse portfolio of 20-25+ commercial real estate assets primarily consisting of (in order of preference)
multifamily properties, industrial, retail, and office properties in several key U.S. markets. Since its
inception, MLG Capital and its associated entities have had active, exited or pending investments of
approximately 27.5 million square feet of total space across the United States, inclusive of more than
22,700+ apartment units, with exited and estimated current value exceeding $±3.1 billion*.

The funds will focus on opportunities that seek to provide investors cash-on-cash yield with the
expectation of growth over time via a dual sourcing strategy structured to encompass their 34 years of
operating history in the Midwest and FL, plus, a private equity strategy currently engaged with over
4,000 real estate industry contacts in several other states. The combination of these two strategies is set
to create deep deal flow, deep diligence, and deep relationships across the country.

MLG Capital focuses on providing the best investment experience and returns. This requires the best
people, and the strongest team. We build our firm around that belief. We are a value-driven
organization.

Current Offering: MLG Private Fund V, MLG Dividend Fund V LLC, a targeted $300M private fund

Learn more: https://mlgcapital.com/private-fund-v/