URL:
Location:
Denver, CO
Niche:
Office
Prior::
Real Crowd

Overall:

Communication/Reporting:

Track Record/Performance:

Sponsor Fees:

With hundreds of individual and institutional investors by our side, we strive to deliver strong, risk-adjusted returns by discovering, cultivating, and harvesting value in unique and proprietary ways.

We are a privately held, full service real estate investment and asset management company headquartered in Denver, Colorado, USA, specializing in the development, acquisition and redevelopment of commercial real estate assets throughout the United States.

We focus on generating attractive risk-adjusted returns and creating long-term value for our shareholders and investors through our disciplined approach to due diligence and operations.  As a full-service real estate asset management company, with internal asset management, property management, and development professionals, we can maintain the highest quality standards.

With our national presence, our seasoned veterans are able to capitalize on established relationships to acquire valuable insights across the country, giving us access to compelling, and often proprietary, real estate investment opportunities, while also providing the local knowledge to better understand the market and its risks.

The leadership of Northstar Commercial Partners and its employees are often the first investors in each opportunity because we believe it’s the best place for our own investment capital. We always invite our friends, family, colleagues and new relationships to co-invest alongside us at the same terms. 

Our team is salary-based and incentivized on performance to ensure alignment, and we don’t engage in businesses that create a conflict of interest between us and our investors. This is as true today as when the company was founded in 2000.

Whether investing for the short or long term, our capital structure ensures all our interests are aligned.

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

Peter DeLuca

Oct 14, 2019

Disclaimer: while the sponsor's fees/waterfall are reasonable, they mean nothing compared to the critical facts highlighted below, and the scores in "Communication/Performance". Overall I give this sponsor a ZERO star rating. This review is based on Citadel at Colfax: a large (~22 acre) new development in Denver. There are several critical reasons for the low rating:

1) Offering materials had a critical mis-representation - the entire 'crown jewel' of this development was a low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC) that Northstar sought for developing a low-rent home for military veterans. Citadel would have land sold at-cost to the developer, and in return, Citadel would receive a LIHTC from the state/local gov't agencies, which would be a sizable source of returns for the overall project. They clearly noted in the offering literature dated 12/15/17 that if this LIHTC is not obtained, the project underwritten returns would be "lower", but they never provided an estimate as to how much lower. It turns out, in a project update in March 2018, they state that they were notified in September 2017 that the LIHTC application was denied! This was 3 months before the offering literature dated 12/15/17 that was pitched to investors on RealCrowd! So the offering materials had an impossibly-high underwritten IRR that was not achievable by their own admission - but they never bothered to disclose this to investors!

2) Communication of price adjustments unacceptable - One parcel they were developing was for a Quick Serve Restaurant (QSR). This property had an LOI in the offering literature dated 12/15/17 at $25.75/sq ft. An update a few months later merely had an update referencing the QSR property at a $25.00 sales price (no comment or clarification whatsoever as to why the price dropped $.75/sq ft). Then, the next update referenced a sales price of $22.00/sq ft - again, no reason or expalantion as to why it dropped in price. Nearly ONE YEAR later, during a capital call conference call (see comment later regarding this), they finally provided an explanation as to why the QSR price dropped 14.5%: "they were offered a price reduction if they closed by Dec 31, 2018". The pad sale still hasn't closed nearly one year later, yet they are apparently still being offered the price reduction for a sale by 12/31/18. Unacceptable for lack of clarity, and no explanation on follow-up questions why the price reduction wasn't rescinded, considering pad sale still hasn't closed nearly one year later.

3) Communication of pad sales - For the QSR, they kept extending the date of the pad sale, eventually to December 2018. In the project update for Dec 2018, they said the QSR pad sale "closed". Yet, the next month, they merely said that the 'closing was extended one month' for easement issues. How do you tell investors a transaction for a pad sale "closed" - then walk it back the next month, with no explanation? It's as if the sponsor thinks investors are all clueless and don't bother looking at how this month's update changed from prior months! If that's not bad enough, as of October 2019 - nearly one year later - it STILL hasn't closed! And current updates merely say "we hope to close by end of 2019". Similar pad sale issues with a hotel development, which also had an LOI in the December 2017 offering documentation, and nearly 2 years later, still hasn't sold! Note that this is not Northstar's first land development, and they are a very large firm with plenty of experience.

4) 40% Capital Call: no communication or equity by GP - In an update in August 2019, they tell us out of the blue that a capital call may be required in the following month. No previous comments in any prior updates for 18 months that the project was running over budget, or had higher unanticipated costs. No color as to possible amounts, or what will be the determining factor if a call is even required. Then, about 2 weeks later, investors are hit up with a 40% capital call, requested in 2 weeks! How do you not know if a call is required, only to tell investors to pony up 40% more just a few weeks later! An amount this large should have been known that a call would be required just a few weeks before, at the August update. Also, Northstar only arranged a conference call to discuss this capital call after being inundated with investors' inquiries after not even so much as providing a single document showing where all of this money went, or why a 40% capital call was even required! Then, during the capital call, an investor asked how much additional equity Northstar was contributing in the call. They answered: $0, because the original offering documentation outlined a specific amount of GP equity, and 'they can't deviate from this offering literature amount'. Can you believe this!??! And on top of it, current projections show a 0% IRR with current underwriting, assuming all investors contribute a capital call, and they actually sell some pad sales.

5) Communication of project financing - We are told out of the blue, several months into the project, that the project financing didn't close as expected. No more updates regarding project financing (a critical aspect for a new land development, given no pad sales or other sources of revenue). Then, several months later, we are merely told that "project financing closed", and "updated projections would be provided". No updated projections were provided, and we are not told of the new financing terms until a year later during the capital call conference call: a 12% interest rate, compared to 5.75%-6% of the underwriting! 

6) Financial statements do not exist - We are not provided any clear traditional financial statements on the project - realizing it's a land development, there are still consolidated categories that can be issued, but we are merely given a grand total lump sum "total costs" in about 2 categories. no breakdown or justification showing where the overages existed or arose from.

There are other frustrations from this investment, but the above are by far the most critical and worst. I am hearing from other investors on 2 other Northstar projects that capital calls were issued as well, so capital calls seem to be common with this sponsor, although they were not to the extreme 40% call that this project has seen.

Bottom line: I will never invest with this sponsor again. I don't know if I will be contributing to the capital call, as I expect this to be a 100% TOTAL LOSS investment, given where the project is at, and how dissatisfied other investors are in the mismanagement of this project.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
To see feedback and discussions from actual Big V investors, join over 1000 accredited investors at the 506 In
To see feedback and discussions from actual Praxis investors, join over 1000 accredited investors at the 506 I
To see feedback and discussions from actual Broadmark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 50
The RealSource Group of Companies benefits from their proprietary "Econometric Model" which has been in use since 1
Rainier actively pursues value-add real estate investment opportunities with high-quality developers and operators on pr
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
To see feedback and discussions from actual Fund That Flip investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct. URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essent
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Website - Holdfolio Fees - Various Phone - 317-440-1515 SEC REG - USES neither 506b or 506c Holdfolio was founded on the principle of creating profitable partnerships. We believe individuals need to earn above average return
Northstar Commercial Partners Northstar Commercial Partners
Rated 1.2/5 based on 7 customer reviews

With hundreds of individual and institutional investors by our side, we strive to deliver strong, risk-adjusted returns by discovering, cultivating, and harvesting value in unique and proprietary ways.

We are a privately held, full service real estate investment and asset management company headquartered in Denver, Colorado, USA, specializing in the development, acquisition and redevelopment of commercial real estate assets throughout the United States.

We focus on generating attractive risk-adjusted returns and creating long-term value for our shareholders and investors through our disciplined approach to due diligence and operations.  As a full-service real estate asset management company, with internal asset management, property management, and development professionals, we can maintain the highest quality standards.

With our national presence, our seasoned veterans are able to capitalize on established relationships to acquire valuable insights across the country, giving us access to compelling, and often proprietary, real estate investment opportunities, while also providing the local knowledge to better understand the market and its risks.

The leadership of Northstar Commercial Partners and its employees are often the first investors in each opportunity because we believe it’s the best place for our own investment capital. We always invite our friends, family, colleagues and new relationships to co-invest alongside us at the same terms. 

Our team is salary-based and incentivized on performance to ensure alignment, and we don’t engage in businesses that create a conflict of interest between us and our investors. This is as true today as when the company was founded in 2000.

Whether investing for the short or long term, our capital structure ensures all our interests are aligned.