O'Donnell Group Reviews & Ratings
URL:
Location:
Newport Beach, CA
Niche:
Industrial
Prior::
Real Crowd CrowdStreet

Overall:

Communication/Reporting:

Track Record/Performance:

Sponsor Fees:

To see feedback and discussions from actual O"Donnell investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

The O’Donnell Group has the experience, specialized knowledge and market presence to recognize the growth in ecommerce and translate that directly to successfully invest in some of the most compelling deals in industrial real estate.

Experience

The firm has over 40 years of experience investing, paying dividends and profiting on the sale of industrial buildings through every type of market cycle. The first O’Donnell development partnership was created in 1972, and since then, The O’Donnell Group has developed or acquired over 22 million square feet of industrial and office business parks throughout the U.S. The O’Donnell Group is a fully integrated operator with institutional quality accounting, asset management, property management and leasing.

Since 1996, The O’Donnell Group has owned and managed approximately 750,000 square feet of industrial space and 85 acres of land for future development across the United States. Over the years, The O’Donnell Group has consistently been ranked among the top developers in the State of California.

The global financial crisis of 2008 created havoc in the stock and bond market, as well as many sectors of the real estate market. Still, industrial real estate emerged relatively unscathed. There were no loan bankruptcies in O'Donnell industrial portfolio – none.

The track record for projects in which the O'Donnell has accepted outside accredited investor capital is shown below. Please inquire to review the sponsor's track record in greater depth. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. These projects are shown for discussion purposes only.

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

JIAYE SHEN

Apr 09, 2021

Bad communication, five emails for an update and no response. Single tenant industry property should be cashflowing, while they stop distribution way before covid is even a thing. They charge asset management fee on the total purchase price, which is super high. All they care is to get the fee from the investors. Stay away.

Arun Sivaraman

Mar 31, 2021

I didn't invest them but even getting them to answer questions during due diligence phase was worse than pulling teeth. O'Donnell himself didn't know about things that existed in his own PPM. I pulled out my commitment and I haven't regretted since then especially looking at the comments I see here as always heard from other investors.

Richard A

Oct 27, 2017

Really very disappointed with this sponsor.  I am in their Opportunity Fund V, which really isn't much of a fund, since it has only 2 investments (I was under the impression it was supposed to be 3-5).   Communication is very poor with no details on why distributions are falling significantly under projections (after a year they are at 5.6% versus preferred of 10%) even though they are leased up??!!!

V N

Jul 11, 2017

I was invested in The Phoenix Industrial Opportunity offering which closed on 12/30/2015. It was eventually exitted on 6/30/2017. In 1.5 years, the return was 40% with a IRR of 25%, which was close to the projected IRR of 26.9%. Overall, very happy with the results of the investment. Timely communication was lacking, as mentioned by others.

Tim C

Feb 10, 2017

Great Niche, background and track record.  If they hire a PR firm to handle all the investors Q&A they would likely do better with crowdfunding.  Try getting a straight answer from O'Donnell himself .. it will drive you insane.   Too early to tell how the returns with them will be in the fund.. but, doubt I will ever invest with them again.  

George Dai

Feb 08, 2017

I rated O'Donnell as my #1 sponsor before I invested with them due to their excellent track record. Unfortunately, their communication has become more of a problem. It is not easy to get an answer from Doug, but at the beginning he did respond. More recently he and his team did not respond to me for more than a couple of weeks, which made me uncomfortable. I am rating it lower!

Reggie Lal

Jan 27, 2017

To sum it up succintly: they have a good niche, seem to know their markets well, don't really communicate much, charge well for their services,not much skin in the game on deals.

Returns is what prob. keeps investors with them is my guess

Bob Anderson

Jan 26, 2017

Track record is impressive. However, the communication skills of its principle has a lot to be desired.  The asset management fees are based on total assets not equity raised which makes them almost unbearable.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
The RealSource Group of Companies benefits from their proprietary "Econometric Model" which has been in use since 1
Griffin Partners is an entrepreneurial commercial real estate investment, development, and property management firm. We
A Premier private lending company, we build healthy returns through real estate investing and lending opportunities.
Crystal View Capital is a real estate private equity firm which focuses on acquiring and managing underperforming self-s
Avistone is a real estate investment management firm with expertise in the acquisition and operation of multi?tenant ind
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essentially synd
To see feedback and discussions from actual Fund That Flip investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct. URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Website - Holdfolio Fees - Various Phone - 317-440-1515 SEC REG - USES neither 506b or 506c Holdfolio was founded on the principle of creating profitable partnerships. We believe individuals need to earn above average return
O'Donnell Group Reviews & Ratings O
Rated 2.3/5 based on 19 customer reviews

To see feedback and discussions from actual O"Donnell investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

The O’Donnell Group has the experience, specialized knowledge and market presence to recognize the growth in ecommerce and translate that directly to successfully invest in some of the most compelling deals in industrial real estate.

Experience

The firm has over 40 years of experience investing, paying dividends and profiting on the sale of industrial buildings through every type of market cycle. The first O’Donnell development partnership was created in 1972, and since then, The O’Donnell Group has developed or acquired over 22 million square feet of industrial and office business parks throughout the U.S. The O’Donnell Group is a fully integrated operator with institutional quality accounting, asset management, property management and leasing.

Since 1996, The O’Donnell Group has owned and managed approximately 750,000 square feet of industrial space and 85 acres of land for future development across the United States. Over the years, The O’Donnell Group has consistently been ranked among the top developers in the State of California.

The global financial crisis of 2008 created havoc in the stock and bond market, as well as many sectors of the real estate market. Still, industrial real estate emerged relatively unscathed. There were no loan bankruptcies in O'Donnell industrial portfolio – none.

The track record for projects in which the O'Donnell has accepted outside accredited investor capital is shown below. Please inquire to review the sponsor's track record in greater depth. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. These projects are shown for discussion purposes only.