Watermark Real Estate Reviews & Ratings
URL:
Location:
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Niche:
Workforce Multi-family
Prior::
Direct

Overall:

Communication/Reporting:

Track Record/Performance:

Sponsor Fees:

Watermark Real Estate Reviews & Ratings

To see feedback and discussions from actual Watermark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

At Watermark Partners Real Estate, we raise and actively manage funds for the acquisition, improvement and management of strong income generating real estate assets in the Midwest. At Watermark we invest and manage with a commitment to both our investors and our community.

By acquiring, improving and intelligently managing real estate assets, our funds generate outsized returns for investors. We enhance profitability and ensure long term sustainability by acquiring and improving poorly positioned or deeply discounted assets that provide an opportunity for enhancement. Watermark targets properties that generate strong annual income for investors from the date of acquisition, using its leadership team's 
expertise to improve the income and value of all properties within the funds.

Prior to acquisition, each property is thoroughly analyzed from a variety of perspectives to determine if it meets our strict Investment Strategy, which includes assessing for improvement or renovation opportunities as well as reviewing for opportunities that enable us to actualize our commitment to enhancing communities. 

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

David Suominen

Apr 28, 2021

Spoke with Tom today.  He reassured me that sales of assets in funds III and IV are going well.  Look forward to investing in S.E. fund.

Arnab Bagchi

Nov 16, 2019

I am invested in 2 of their midwest funds and the first sunbelt fund. Initially their performance in MW funds were doing great but in recent times it started going downhill. Sunbelt fund however is doing better... but it is only a year now.

Their communications are timely and consistent though sometimes a bit limited on specifics.  I would like to wait and see how it does in future before considering further investments.

Steve Settlage

Aug 02, 2019

I am currently holding judgement until they restore making quarterly payments.

Bob Cat

Mar 09, 2019

Their performance in the mid west funds used to be great but has been declining rapidly. They are a little heavy on the fees. They may have become a litte over confident and went with less favorable investor terms with their newest fund (Sunbelt) especially going into a new geography thus losing the repeat investors. With the poor performance in midwest and less favorable investor terms,  I don't see myself making any new investments with them in the future.

Robert Fakheri

Jan 24, 2019

Got in Fund IV at last minute. Tom Caroll has been very responsive. The detail of reporting has been thorough. Impressed with their track record and ability to consistently make acqusitions at high cap rates. Fees have been reasonable. Distribution was timely as well.

K Mo

Nov 06, 2018

UPDATE OCTOBER 2019 - WM is selling off a portion of portfolio that is most troublesome and will focus on the better properties. Hopefully this will bear out and will return some capital and WM can stabilize the other properties.

UPDATE AUGUST 2019 - Performance has slipped in Funds III and IV quarter over quarter with DSCR in Fund III dropping below 1.0 which is very concerning.  Sponsor blames property management but this is a very tough class to manage. Holding breath that they turn it around.

Invested last year in fund IV. So far so good. Like the class C MF diversity it adds to my portfolio. Tom has been a pleasure to work with. Wait and see on their new Southeast fund as it’s a new area for them.

M S

Oct 28, 2018

Fairly fee heavy and a little aggressive on the waterfall catchup carry - but they arguably deserve it.  Very professional sponsor.  Not in the least bit concerned about preservation of capital or a decent return on investment.  

Perry Pelton

Aug 16, 2018

Top notch sponsor. Dealt with Tom Carroll, partner and investor relations. He is top notch, fast response times to questions and follow-up. I am in Fund IV so too early to tell how this will perform, but no concerns based on their extensive track record. 

Paul Szilassy

Apr 30, 2018

I invested in Fund IV in September 2017, with full capital called in Nov '17. Communication, reporting and transparency all qualify as a gold standard with Watermark. So far they have exceeded proforma on distributions. They know their midwest multifamily niche market intimately and I trust that they will continue to meet or exceed proforma for the life of the fund. They also periodically go on the road to visit investors. I couldn't be happier with this investment.

D Meeker

Mar 17, 2018

The Watermark team is smart, communicative, and performing very well. 

Torgeir Willumsen

Jan 11, 2018

They have a great niche and business plan and appears to be executing it well. Great communication from the sponsor. Distributions come like clockwork exceeding expectations.

Alberto BigG

Dec 15, 2017

I have only recently started investing with them, but I have been impressed about their communication style, the amount of time they spent with me to make me comfortable with this investment and generally speaking the way they work with investors.

They are very open about sharing detailed information, strategy and outlook for the future. And I also like the niche they've identified for themselves.

Ravi A

Oct 12, 2017

S G

Aug 26, 2017

I’m in Watermark Fund II and Fund III. Both are performing well.

I was so impressed with the amount of information they gave as part of the due diligence. They found a good niche in Michigan and Ohio with underperfoming multifamily properties. I spent an entire day with John touring the properties in Yisplanti, East Lansing, and Toledo. Overall the tour gave me a good feeling Watermark is executing their strategy and operating with a conservative approach.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
The RealSource Group of Companies benefits from their proprietary "Econometric Model" which has been in use since 1
Griffin Partners is an entrepreneurial commercial real estate investment, development, and property management firm. We
A Premier private lending company, we build healthy returns through real estate investing and lending opportunities.
Avistone is a real estate investment management firm with expertise in the acquisition and operation of multi?tenant ind
To see feedback and discussions from actual Broadmark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 50
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essentially synd
To see feedback and discussions from actual Fund That Flip investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct. URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Website - Holdfolio Fees - Various Phone - 317-440-1515 SEC REG - USES neither 506b or 506c Holdfolio was founded on the principle of creating profitable partnerships. We believe individuals need to earn above average return
Watermark Real Estate Reviews & Ratings Watermark Real Estate Reviews & Ratings
Rated 3.5/5 based on 27 customer reviews

Watermark Real Estate Reviews & Ratings

To see feedback and discussions from actual Watermark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct.

At Watermark Partners Real Estate, we raise and actively manage funds for the acquisition, improvement and management of strong income generating real estate assets in the Midwest. At Watermark we invest and manage with a commitment to both our investors and our community.

By acquiring, improving and intelligently managing real estate assets, our funds generate outsized returns for investors. We enhance profitability and ensure long term sustainability by acquiring and improving poorly positioned or deeply discounted assets that provide an opportunity for enhancement. Watermark targets properties that generate strong annual income for investors from the date of acquisition, using its leadership team's 
expertise to improve the income and value of all properties within the funds.

Prior to acquisition, each property is thoroughly analyzed from a variety of perspectives to determine if it meets our strict Investment Strategy, which includes assessing for improvement or renovation opportunities as well as reviewing for opportunities that enable us to actualize our commitment to enhancing communities.