Yieldstreet Reviews & Ratings
Type:
Debt
Focus:
Litigation Debt

Overall:

Platform Provided Due Diligence:

Platform Fees:

Quality of Deals:

Website - Yieldstreet.com

Fees - 1-4% annual management fee

Phone844-943-5378

SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed

To see discussions  from over 1000 accredited investors as they share their experience with Yieldstreet, join the 506 Investor Group. Get access and special terms to other legal financing funds.

YieldStreet’s technology connects investors to asset-based opportunities presented by best-in-class originators. And, its as easy as buying stocks.

YieldStreet investments are debt based alternative investments. YieldStreet Originators take out a loan for a project or need that is collaterized by an underlying asset the originator has, such as a real estate property or legal settlement.

Our offerings currently concentrate in three primary alternative asset classes; real estate, litigation finance and commercial finance. You can learn more about each of our asset classes on YieldStreet University. YieldStreet seeks investment opportunities that provide investors with low correlation to the broader stock market, and target annual yields between 8-20%.

As originators make principal and interest payments during the term of their loan, distributions are paid out directly to investors in the offering.

All YieldStreet offerings are asset-based, meaning your investment is backed by strong collateral such as vehicles or real estate. This collateral acts like insurance in the rare case a borrower defaults.

Our team does an initial review of the opportunity according to the five criteria set in our Investment Philosophy:
Asset-based with strong collateral
Low market correlation
Established asset managers
Short duration (1-3 years)
Attractive yield (8-20% annual target returns)

Due Diligence & Discussions

Share your experience. Rate and comment!

Tommy Gunn

Feb 15, 2021

Despite my utter enmity for Yieldstreet, I've been lucky to have had good luck with them on the deals I invested in.  2 of 3 termed and my remaining one is in default, but on a plan.  These were all RE deals.

My biggest issue with Yieldstreet is that they are just scummy af.  They way they communicate with investors (if/when they do, that is), the utterly awful way they provide customer service (rude and incompetent) and the fraud...of course the fraud, lol.

Not going to even do my usual 'Pros/Cons' for these guys.  I'm just hopeful my last deal with them returns my principal and then I'm closing the door to Yieldstreet FOREVER!

Avoid these guys at all costs!

Don Wallace

Dec 17, 2020

2 of my 4 Investments with Yieldstreet are in default.
I am in the same Commercial Real Estate Portfolio as others. I also have a large
investment in a Louisiana Oil & Gas that is in Chapter 11 and it is pretty obvious that some fraud was involved as the LTV could not have been as advertised. The investment stopped paying after only 3 months! Ouch!
I also agree with others that communication and transparency and dealing with the defaults are not what I would hope for. Maybe they will prove me wrong, but as of now I regret the day I ever heard of Yieldstreet.

Daniel E

Oct 18, 2019

The underwriting of the RE debt deals is suboptimal.  There are cases of RE debt that are clearly fraud.  Yieldstreet does not provide accurate information about the deals.  Avoid RE offerings in this platform.

S G

Dec 26, 2017

I’m in 2 investments. One investment has been in default for several months.  Another is a litigation financing which is cash flowing poorly- well below projections. I will not be making any futures investments with YS.

Gary Rebensdorf

Nov 08, 2017

Agreeing with Eric below. By far my favorite too.  I am in a few of the litigation portfolios yielding 12-15%. Seems the money chasing the deals is decreasing the yields.  Also in a few of their RE deals.  I feel like they do a wonderful job of due diligence and have a level of comfort that I don't have with Peer Street, POL & RealtyShares. It feels like you are working with a firm that cares about the deals and their reputation. 

I was most impressed with them when I first tried to get on their platform.  They would not let me on until they received a financial statement and credit check.  They are the only platform that has required that. 

Eric K

Aug 29, 2017

By far my favorite crowdfunding platform because the uniqueness of the asset class.  Litigation finance is not correlated to the economy, the S&P 500, etc. and that at the end of the day, is what makes it an attractive addition to my portfolio.  I'm involved in more than 20 offerings (since about October 2016) and so far so good.  I did web searches, etc. like others but the two factors that convinced me to invest were: 1) Michael Weisz's talk w/the students at the Liebowitz Entrepreneur Program (you can watch on Youtube: https://youtu.be/alEVTF-wnto) 2) Their page on the deals that they did NOT do: https://www.yieldstreet.com/anti-investments 

1) Michael Weisz is extremely bright and savvy, and smart people always figure it out

2) It's quite unique for a platform who would put up a page on deals that did not make it, which shows some good introspection on their part

All in all, quite satisfied with the asset class and the platform.  The only comment I would make is that I hope in the future they will feature more offerings that are not from LawCash and also feature some commercial litigation offerings (most of the offerings currently are personal injury related)

Can't change the ratings (I'm using a Chrome browser) from the default 3.5 stars for some reason, but the ratings I would give are:

Diligence: 5

Platform fees: 3.5

Quality of Deals: 5

Jason Ho

Jul 08, 2017

I like Yieldstreet mostly for its litigation assets, which have been returning 12-13% consistently every year. I've invested in 18 litigation offerings to date, and all are performing as expected and on time.

A typical portfolio comprises of 300-400 cases, where the minimum investment is $5-10k. This allows you to diversify across a large number of outcomes, which reduces the volatility of your returns. The case types are usually motor vehicle accidents, or slip & falls, where the judgements are already well hashed out, and thus the probability of settlement and their amounts can be modeled with some degree of accuracy (versus more complex cases, like commercial litigation, which need to be looked at case-by-case).

Portfolios are typically underwritten so that the total advance amount represents < 10% of the expected net case value, and no single lawsuit represents 5-8% of the total portfolio. Furthermore, only 10% of cases go to trial, with most settling out of court.

Before I started investing in litigation funding, I read "Investing in Justice" by Max Volsky, which I highly recommend if you're looking to understand this asset class better. 

The biggest negative is that YieldStreet doesn't provide due diligence materials for the individual cases in their portfolios. They only give you the general overview and statistics, so you have to trust either LawCash (the originator) or YieldStreet to do the proper underwriting for each case.

Overall, I like YieldStreet's litigation assets for its consistent cash flows, lack of correlation with the public markets, low counterparty risk (the obligers are usually large insurance companies), and built in diversification (< $50 invested in each lawsuit).

Suhail Mohammed

Jul 07, 2017

I am currently invested in 3 of their litigiation finance investments. They fill up lterally within seconds, so you have to be ready at the time they open, submit and hope that you get in before it gets full. Its scary fast. So far, it has been a very good experience and they are performing as expected. I really like these as a way of diversification from real estate and hopng more such non-REI platforms come out.

Bill Scott

Feb 04, 2017

Like on my LendingHome review I agree with James' comments. Their real estate offerings are just "meh".

But I love having something as different in my portfolio as litigation based lending (pre-settlement, post-settlement and lawfirm lending). And for loans having a 13+% return on loans (I am seeing these returns in my account). Since I am looking for litigation based lending I give them a high mark for offering this as an alternative. LawCash is the actual "sponsor" that bundles these loans (usually a few hundred). I definitely would like to see more offerings that are alternative in nature. For this I gave them a slight ding in the quality of deals department.

I really like their dashboard and their investor tools for managing and understanding what is happening with my account (I only have litigation pre-settlement).

Hey Mark, one thing that would be nice is to have a rating dimension on their support. I had a very positive feeling about them since I talked with one of their team members and have an invitation to visit them in their office in NY. However, I have sent a few questions over recently and still waiting for response.

When I invested I expected some emails telling me next steps. I got nothing. However, logging the dashboard was super helpful and I feel it covers most of what I needed to know. However, just an email would have been great.

At this stage I plan on keeping some litigation lending in my portfolio (as long as this lending works out over the course of next few years)

I also feel that the reinvest model would really help. The problem is they are brokering a closed portfolio from LawCash. It seems that if LawCash added their own crowd funding platform they could do something like that?

James Mc Ree

Jan 30, 2017

I like this platform for is lawsuit-related investments.  They seem to be a high returning alternative to the stock market.  My only complaint with them is principle comes back very quickly.  I wish they would re-invest it so my princple would work for the advertised 3 year term.

Their real estate fund investment offerings appear OK, but yield only 9% for a relatively narrow spread of investments in the fund.  Investors can get 9+% returns in single-property investments relatively easily and a fund that only invests in a few holdings isn't that diversified.

Top 5 by Overall Rating
Arrowpoint Properties is a privately owned and managed real estate investment company specializing in the acquisition an
To see feedback and discussions from actual Broadmark investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 50
The RealSource Group of Companies benefits from their proprietary "Econometric Model" which has been in use since 1
Griffin Partners is an entrepreneurial commercial real estate investment, development, and property management firm. We
To see feedback and discussions from actual Praxis investors, join over 1000 accredited investors at the 506 I
Website - Real Crowd Fees - NONE Phone - 800-286-1602 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed Real Crowd is a private, secure, and simple-to-use online platform for accredited investors to assess, r
Website - CrowdStreet Phone - 888 432-7693 SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed CrowdStreet allows accredited investors to purchase real estate investments through their platform, which is essent
To see feedback and discussions from actual Fund That Flip investors, join over 1600 accredited investors at the 506 Investor Group. 506 Group negotiates lower fees and better terms versus investing direct. URL - Fund That Flip Fees - 2% to
Website - Brelion.com Fees - Various Phone - (888) 564-3213 SEC REG - TBD Brelion is owned by the same company that owns Smartland sponsor and Peer Realty crowdfunding platform. As real estate developers ourselves, we underst
Website - Holdfolio Fees - Various Phone - 317-440-1515 SEC REG - USES neither 506b or 506c Holdfolio was founded on the principle of creating profitable partnerships. We believe individuals need to earn above average return
Yieldstreet Reviews & Ratings Yieldstreet Reviews & Ratings
Rated 2.4/5 based on 21 customer reviews

Website - Yieldstreet.com

Fees - 1-4% annual management fee

Phone844-943-5378

SEC REG - USES 506(c) - Open Investments can be advertised and publicly discussed

To see discussions  from over 1000 accredited investors as they share their experience with Yieldstreet, join the 506 Investor Group. Get access and special terms to other legal financing funds.

YieldStreet’s technology connects investors to asset-based opportunities presented by best-in-class originators. And, its as easy as buying stocks.

YieldStreet investments are debt based alternative investments. YieldStreet Originators take out a loan for a project or need that is collaterized by an underlying asset the originator has, such as a real estate property or legal settlement.

Our offerings currently concentrate in three primary alternative asset classes; real estate, litigation finance and commercial finance. You can learn more about each of our asset classes on YieldStreet University. YieldStreet seeks investment opportunities that provide investors with low correlation to the broader stock market, and target annual yields between 8-20%.

As originators make principal and interest payments during the term of their loan, distributions are paid out directly to investors in the offering.

All YieldStreet offerings are asset-based, meaning your investment is backed by strong collateral such as vehicles or real estate. This collateral acts like insurance in the rare case a borrower defaults.

Our team does an initial review of the opportunity according to the five criteria set in our Investment Philosophy:
Asset-based with strong collateral
Low market correlation
Established asset managers
Short duration (1-3 years)
Attractive yield (8-20% annual target returns)